top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureamberroseaccess

Interview with Broadside

Broadside (or BSID for short) is a band that I have heard about for the past few years. However, I didn't take the time to sit down and listen to them until this March. When I tell you I was drawn in I mean every song, lyric, word, run, and note hit me in a way I haven't experienced in a while. With lyrics like "I try my best to be more than my anxiety" and "I'm narrowing the gap between me and my fears" and more just from the album 'Paradise'. Within two weeks I knew every word, this band hit me in a place only few others have in the past. I realized this is a band with something important to say. With the two new singles 'King of Nothing' and 'Empty' it stayed to be true.


I got to sit down with the whole band: Ollie, Dom, Pat, and Jeff; and go deeper with them. On the topic of inclusion their own personal experiences with Deaf fans was the first thing discussed. "As long as people are willing to like speak up about it there are also people that are willing to listen"- Pat Diaz This is a band that has made a conscious effort to have captioning on their music videos. It's a rare occurrence for bands to do without being asked, especially on the smaller scale that they are on. It's important for bands of any size to understand that captioning is something that will help include everyone in their content. Being as inclusive as they have the power to be is something that this band takes into consideration. On the topic of inclusion Oliver tracked back to the time when the Harry Potter series entered his life. Remembering all the different ways people could experience the series no matter what your ailment, disability or situation was; bringing it back to the topic of Broadside by saying that would be something he would like to bring into the band. Growing as artists, you have to understand and consider fans in every walk of life; that seems to be exactly what Broadside is doing and plans to continue to do.


Watch Full Interview here:

Broadside Portraits: https://amberrosesigns.wixsite.com/broadside-portraits Midnight Tour Gallery: https://amberrosesigns.wixsite.com/midnight-world-tour

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page